Gratitude

NURSE – day 7 gratitude

NURSE


Over the weekend I worked with two new oncology families.  Families who had just learned their precious child’s body was filled with dangerous cancer cells.  Their lives flipped upside down in a parents worst nightmare.  I had the privilege to talk to them, encourage them, reassure them and, at times, just be there to listen.


The patients themselves shared their frustrations, their fears and their smiles with me.  Working with children is challenging in an amazingly gratifying way.  Children are authentic without trying.  Their are resilient when sickness is all they remember.  They are playful when they feel good and allow rest when not.


This year I have seen too many children pass away and the thing that keeps me going back to work and giving it my all each and every shift is prayer.  Praying for God to hold His children in His arms and give me strength to care for each one.  On my drive home, I pray for my patients.

Hebrews 6:10 (AMP)
For God is not unjust so as to forget your work and the love which you have shown for His name in ministering to [the needs of] the saints (God’s people), as you do.

Leave a Reply

